DIY Coca Cola Dish Soap Dispenser

 Simple Rockabilly Kitchen Upgrade!

20131114_154102

My kitchen theme is cherries and Coke.  I have been wanting to find a more fitting kitchen soap dispenser for a while, when I saw a picture on Pinterest (www.keepcalmanddecorate.blogspot.com) of a Coke bottle that had been converted to a soap dispenser.  It was one of those major “duh” moments…. why didn’t I think of that-  I mean I only have a ton of empty Coke bottles!  I’m lucky enough to live in mid century modern home that has not been upgraded, as you will see by the yellow formica counter tops and original early 1960’s yellow oven. I have a 1950’s formica table that is waiting for new legs, and when I get some I will share more images of my kitchen.  I collect new and antique Coca Cola items, so as you will see, some things are old, some are not. So I took one of the newer Coke bottles, put the dish soap in it and slapped a Suave conditioner pump on it and… voila!! The pump is silver, which doesn’t match my kitchen colors, but it’s the only one I had. As soon as I find a pump in black or red I will switch it out.  

20131114_153855

20131114_154507-1

20131114_154602

antique coca cola crate

coke bottles and pinwheels

antique hutch with cherry and coke decor

About Rockabelle Bombshell

I am a single mom of a 13 yr old boy and 6 yr old girl. I love DIY projects of all types, and everything Rockabilly! I love the Icons of the 50's, as well as classic cars, pinups, retro appliances and decor, and victorian gothic furniture. I think of myself as a tattooed 1950's transplant... definitely born in the wrong era! I love thrifting and "junking"- I rarely see junk, I see things for their possibilities! I started this blog to document my DIY adventures as I attempt to upcycle and recreate my furniture and home decor, add a Rockabilly touch to as much clothing as I can, make life fun for my kids, and share my love of Rockabilly!

6 responses »

  1. Thankyou -Thankyou Is there a specific bottle size with that adapter? I have some invarious sizes. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!!!!

    Reply
    • I used a newer, 9 1/2 tall bottle, and the pump off of the gray bottle of Suave conditioner. I think it may be a little easier to use one of the older, shorter coke bottles, and don’t force the pump on as far as you can (like I did), because it’s really hard to get off if you do! But at least if you use the newer coke bottles, if you break it trying to get the pump on or off, you’re only out $1.00:)

      Reply
  2. That is such a seriously cool idea, I absolutely love it! You’ve got me thinking now about how the same principle might work well on a vintage milk bottle in the kitchen, too, or a medicine bottle in the powder room.

    Your kitchen is awesome, dear gal!

    Big hugs (the first from my new computer :)),
    ♥ Jessica

    Reply
    • Thank you so much!! I can’t wait to find the right legs for my 50’s formica table, but by the time I do I will be so used to eating on the couch that eating in the kitchen will seem so boring:) (at least it will look normal though!)
      Congratulations on your new computer! & I don’t think my comment posted regarding the accuracy of time period clothing and styles… so I just wanted to tell you that I couldn’t agree more and you handled it with such class! My wardrobe goes from vintage to modern rockabilly to psychobilly to boring and style-less, lol- but like you- I wear whatever captures my heart when I see it, or reflects my mood at the moment. So to those critical, have nothing better-to-do’s I say, Screw ’em!!! (I would probably say something worse, but that’s just how I am with people like that!)
      Much Love My Vintage Loving Friend,
      Monique

      Reply

Leave a comment