RSS Feed

Vintage Blah to Vintage Glam

DIY Upcycled Vintage Jewelry Box

Vintage jewelry boxupcycled vintage jewelry box

I bought this gold jewelry box at a garage sale for $2. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it but I saw potential.  I’ve been wanting to give my recently turned six year old daughter a “big girl” room and have been talking to her about what colors we want to do it in. We decided to do pink and red with black accents and SHE wanted the furniture pieces to be black!  Jenicca is very girly, frilly, diva, glam…  I knew I wanted the black furniture to have the shiny lacquer look with “bling” knobs.   So here is a step by step on this vintage upcycled jewelry box:

1.  Removed drawer knobs

2.  Scraped the gold off with a butter knife (this step isn’t always neccessary, it depends on which type of paint you’re going to cover it with and how smooth you want it).

3.  Sanded it with fine sandpaper

4.  Sprayed one coat of Rustoleum 2x primer and let it completely dry

5.  Sprayed light layers of Rust-oleum Black Lacquer spray paint, allowing each layer to completely dry before spraying the next layer. I used one full can.

6.  It still didn’t quite have the super shiny effect that I wanted so I used Varathane brand polyurethane, crystal clear, gloss and did about 4 coats.  4 coats may not be neccessary but I wanted a lot of protection for the abuse of a six year old!

7.  Put the new knobs on.  How truly vintage I want to keep the item I’m working on determines  if I buy my knobs at an antique shop or elsewhere. These are not antique knobs, I bought them at a local antique/craft/gift shop.

The best advice I have for anyone wanting to upcylce a vintage piece is to be patient (patience is not my best quality)!  Do very thin layers of spray paint and polyurethane to prevent drips and bubbles… which takes A LOT of patience!!

diy upcycled vintage

upcycled jewelry box

upcycled vintage furniture

(The table under the jewelry box in this picture was mod podged with Damask scrapbook paper and covered with polyurethane also!)

I’m almost done with the antique desk I’m upcycling to match the other black furniture pieces for her room, post coming soon!

About Rockabelle Bombshell

I am a single mom of a 13 yr old boy and 6 yr old girl. I love DIY projects of all types, and everything Rockabilly! I love the Icons of the 50's, as well as classic cars, pinups, retro appliances and decor, and victorian gothic furniture. I think of myself as a tattooed 1950's transplant... definitely born in the wrong era! I love thrifting and "junking"- I rarely see junk, I see things for their possibilities! I started this blog to document my DIY adventures as I attempt to upcycle and recreate my furniture and home decor, add a Rockabilly touch to as much clothing as I can, make life fun for my kids, and share my love of Rockabilly!

2 responses »

  1. How magnificently lovely! I’d been on the hunt for a jewelry box this year, too, and recently found a vintage sewing box (on legs) at a yard sale for just $2.00 that I’m going to use for some of my costume jewelry. It’s circa 1950s/early 60s and has layers and compartments inside, which I’m going to line with soft fabric to help protect my babbles.

    I truly want to thank you from the bottom of my heart, honey, for your touching comment on my post about Lorena’s illustration. I’m so sorry that you’ve struggled with some of the same issues regarding your appearance. Why are we so hard on ourselves, yet can easily see the beauty (inside and out) in those around us? If only we could all see ourselves as positively as our friends and loved ones view us. Surely the world would be a much happier place if such was the case.

    ♥ Jessica

    Reply
    • I agree. Thank God other people aren’t as harsh on me as I am myself or I would never leave the house!

      A vintage sewing box on legs… I’m dying to see it, please do a post, or at least a facebook pic when you’re done (and let me know) so I can see it!!

      Monique 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

