RSS Feed

Vintage “Treasure Hunting” Tip!

Glass or Crystal!?

Vintage treasure hunting is one of my favorite things to do. I didn’t put much thought into what materials many of my vintage finds were …until I went to list them and was asked.  I had NO CLUE how to tell the difference between glass and crystal- so I called my dad!  My dad has restored antiques for years, attended antique auctions for years, and has a pretty large (and very particular) collection of vintage crystal- so I figured he would know.  He told me to FLICK it!  He said you flick it and crystal makes a unique- more high pitched ringing, glass doesn’t- it just kind of thuds.  At first I thought he was joking, was I really supposed to go around flicking things- and not only that but I thought it was going to be ridiculously difficult to really hear a difference.  So I got off the phone kind of laughing and went to flicking!  To my amazement I was totally able to hear the “ring” he was talking about and the “non-ring” sound of glass!!  I’m sure there are vintage treasure hunters out there that have been doing this for a lot longer than me, and have other tips – and I would love to hear and share any, but this is just one little resource for other vintage treasure collectors out there that may not have known…. Happy Hunting! 

About Rockabelle Bombshell

I am a single mom of a 13 yr old boy and 6 yr old girl. I love DIY projects of all types, and everything Rockabilly! I love the Icons of the 50's, as well as classic cars, pinups, retro appliances and decor, and victorian gothic furniture. I think of myself as a tattooed 1950's transplant... definitely born in the wrong era! I love thrifting and "junking"- I rarely see junk, I see things for their possibilities! I started this blog to document my DIY adventures as I attempt to upcycle and recreate my furniture and home decor, add a Rockabilly touch to as much clothing as I can, make life fun for my kids, and share my love of Rockabilly!

2 responses »

  1. Yay! So great that your dad was able to share this handy tip with you. I picked up myself many years ago when I worked in a housewares shop and loved passing it along to customers when they’d pick up a (glass or crystal) vase.

    ♥ Jessica

    Reply

Leave a Reply

