RSS Feed

The Victorians of Vine Street

The Vintage Homes built 1885-1925, on MY Street…

I live on Vine St, one of the first residential streets of Paso Robles, California.  The first homes built on Vine St were built during the Victorian era, the time period from 1837-1901 when Queen Victoria ruled England, and so named was the architecture of that time.  Many of us think of Victorian homes as a “style” of home- a home that is large, multi-leveled, has at least one rounded tower with a cone shaped roof, big porches, grand entryways, and highly ornamented.  While these may be grand picturesque Victorians, not all Victorians are; some are labled so because they were built during that time.  Over the years my love and appreciation of all things Vintage has grown into a passion and a desire to collect and preserve pieces of the past.  Since I live on historic Vine St, every day I walk or drive past a collection of vintage homes, my favorite of which are the Victorians.  I’ve enjoyed my countless walks by them, day dreaming about the huge glorious Victorian I will one day have….the color, the trim colors, the size, the number of floors, the layout, the towers, the style of roofing tiles, the wrap around porch and the furniture that will enhance it, the intricate edges and shapes of the wood trim around the windows and porch, the gorgeous antiques and refurbished settees that will fill the inside, and a landscape worthy of such an exquisite home! 

This was the first house built on Vine St, 1885.

vintage victorian

Queen Anne Victorian

Side view of Queen Anne Victorian

This yellow victorian has another house behind it, both have been restored:

Yellow Victorian

side view of yellow victorian

other side of yellow victorian

Beautiful Victorian home

White Victorian

Blue Victorian

Victorian era house

green trimmed victorian

grand victorian

Peach Victorian

Vintage Victorian

Victorian era home

Newer Victorian

grey victorian

Big blue Victorian home

I appologize the post published without the pictures the first time, hopefully it won’t happen twice! 

About Rockabelle Bombshell

I am a single mom of a 13 yr old boy and 6 yr old girl. I love DIY projects of all types, and everything Rockabilly! I love the Icons of the 50's, as well as classic cars, pinups, retro appliances and decor, and victorian gothic furniture. I think of myself as a tattooed 1950's transplant... definitely born in the wrong era! I love thrifting and "junking"- I rarely see junk, I see things for their possibilities! I started this blog to document my DIY adventures as I attempt to upcycle and recreate my furniture and home decor, add a Rockabilly touch to as much clothing as I can, make life fun for my kids, and share my love of Rockabilly!

5 responses »

  1. So beautiful and such charm! I like the Victorians near downtown SLO, too.

    Reply
    • Crazy but I don’t go that way hardly ever, and I can’t really remember much about the Victorians there- besides that they are! It’s so depressing that its so expensive to buy a tiny nothing special house in our area- never mind the huge victorians of my dreams!

      Reply
      • So true! One year I took my daughters trick-or-treating in the neighborhood a couple blocks from downtown slo on the south side where a lot of the victorians are. Most of the houses had a plaque near the front door that said the year the house was made and the original owners, like “The Smith House.” It was pretty cool.

      • The Victorian houses I featured (if WordPress would work right and actually show the images) have those plaques too! I remember when the historical society placed them all. I couldn’t zoom close enough in my images to see all that info, so I looked them up on the historical societies website and found the years they were built- and it lists the original owners. Last night was the big annual Vine St Victorian Christmas, or Christmas on Vine St, where the street is blocked off from any vehicles from 8th street to about 22nd street and the streets are FILLED with people. All of the houses are highly decorated and every few houses offers some kind of treat (candy canes, cookies, hot chocolate, hot cider) or entertainment (chiors, performing arts companies, schools which my daughter sang with, Santa, pictures with angels, pictures with Joseph and Mary, shepards with their sheep…)but by far the star of the show is Scrooge! He used to live in one of the Victorians and put on a big show as Scrooge every year. He was so liked as Scrooge that even after he moved away, the current owners let him come back and set up his whole display at their house and continue the tradition:) Sorry for the long reply, should just turn in into a post!

      • No worries. That’s cool that they let the guy come back and decorate. If I go up that way one of these days I will look for it. The victorians near the AG village may have plaques but I am not sure.

Leave a Reply

