RSS Feed

Vintage Vanity Seat Turned Rockabilly!

Antiques Re-done DIY Rockabilly Style!

I found this vanity seat at a local antique store and although it’s colors and fabric were hideous at the time, I could see it’s potential and knew I could make into something more “me”, a vanity seat with a Rockabilly flare! 

Before

before pic of vanity seat

ugly upholstery on vintage vanity seat

Gold and brass are not my style, neither is tan and blue floral fabric!  First I took the screws out of the under side that held the seat to the frame, then I pulled the ugly fabric off and took the staples out that didn’t pull out with the fabric.  While I was taking the fabric off I discovered this ugly fabric was actually covering a much nicer fabric- light blue velvet. The blue fabric was faded, old, worn down- but I’m sure in it’s original condition it was quite nice looking.

blue velvet vanity seat

While continuing to remove staples I discovered this light blue fabric was also a cover up job! The fabric underneath this was the worst of the three- it was a bright orange soft felt typle fabric…

fabric layers covering antique vanity seat

Next I covered the old cushion with an old (but in great condition) velvet or velour red shirt I had, and stapled it into place!

working area for DIY Rockabilly crafts

This is what I had to work with- a crowded work space surrounded by my 5 yr old daughters toys, and a cat that thought it was play time…with my seat I was covering.

Once the seat was covered I used some steel wool to remove the fading goldish uglyness from the frame, while watching Dawn of the Dead to pass the time!

Once the frame was smooth I took it outside and spray painted it black.  When it was dry I took it inside and screwed the seat back on…. and here it is- a new, Rockabilly twist on an antique vanity seat!

After!

DIY rockabilly vanity seat

About Rockabelle Bombshell

I am a single mom of a 13 yr old boy and 6 yr old girl. I love DIY projects of all types, and everything Rockabilly! I love the Icons of the 50's, as well as classic cars, pinups, retro appliances and decor, and victorian gothic furniture. I think of myself as a tattooed 1950's transplant... definitely born in the wrong era! I love thrifting and "junking"- I rarely see junk, I see things for their possibilities! I started this blog to document my DIY adventures as I attempt to upcycle and recreate my furniture and home decor, add a Rockabilly touch to as much clothing as I can, make life fun for my kids, and share my love of Rockabilly!

6 responses »

  1. This looks 100 times better! Great job!

    Reply
  2. Great job! I really like red color with your black couch.

    Reply
    • Thank you! Those couches are at the end of their life, I am always looking for a great deal, on a fabulous settees that I can redo to replace them! My bedroom is black & red with the zebra accents- which is where I am going to use this seat… as soon as I find an awesome vintage vanity I can do in black, to go with it!

      Reply
  3. That’s a great renovation! It goes beautifully with your color scheme, and really pops.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

