RSS Feed

Rockalily Lipsticks, the BEST Rockabilly Reds!

                            

In this photo is me in:

Rockalily, Rockette Red

     For many years I have been searching for the right color red lipstick. I have tried about every brand I could get my hands on- pencils and lipsticks. I think I naturally pull pink tones so most reds look pink on me, not red, and when I try to get a darker shade of red to make sure it doesn’t look pink- it turns out looking too brown. No matter what shade I buy it is NEVER a perfect red. I usually end up mixing two colors together to get it as close to what I want as I can. I have spent so much money in my search for the right shade of red lipstick, just to end up throwing most of them away, and frustrated that they never look like the same color on me that they look in the pictures or on the models.

     I found the Rockalily blog by accident, I wasn’t even searching for lipstick, but started reading and looking around on the site. I started getting very excited because here was another Rockabilly woman that made lipstick specifically designed for other Rockabilly women, for the purpose of creating those perfect shades of Rockabilly reds! It was exactly what I had been searching for and never found. The owner, Ree Ree Rockette, does a great job of explaining which colors go with which skin tones, and providing a lot of photos of customers in the different shades so you can see the lipsticks on real people.

     I went on the internet and read reviews on other people’s blogs and knew I had to try Rockalily lipsticks. Yes, I will be upfront and say I was taking a chance because the price is a little higher than I’m used to paying, and there was shipping since it comes from London- but concidering all the money I’ve wasted in my search for one good lipstick, I was willing to go for it. I ended up ordering 2 shades of red- Rockette Red and Roulette Red, and hoped search for the right red would not be a lost cause.

     When the package came I was so excited! Even the packaging is awesome and wonderfully Rockabilly, from the black shipping package with the tattoo style lettering on the label, to the boxes the lipsticks come in, to the case the lipstick is in! I’m trying to contain my excitement here because never in my life have I seen Rockabilly style lipsticks like this, especially where I live (there are not many people like me around here). Of coarse I put them on right away. I couldn’t believe how much I liked them. For the first time ever- I didn’t have to mix 2 reds together to get the right shade. I finally found the perfect shade of Rockabilly Red- 2 of them at that!! The 2 shades are both great, not a major difference. Roulette Red is a slightly deeper red than Rockette Red, so it depends on what I’m wearing which lipstick I go with.

     Besides being the perfect shades of red, I must share with you the 2 other qualities I love about Rockalily lipsticks: 1. It stays on forever.   2. It doesn’t dry out my lips.    I have eaten hamburgers, pizza, and many other things, and was shocked to see my lipstick was totally still on (which I put a picture of below)! Most of the lipsticks I’ve had in the past dried my lips out so bad I had to peel off dry layers so it wouldn’t be so noticeable, and put tons more on to try and hide it. I kept anticipating that with Rockalily lipsticks to the point I kept touching my lips, checking them in the mirror, and rubbing them together waiting for the dried peeling effect…..but it didn’t happen!  I do not work for Rockalily or sell it, I can honestly say- I just love the stuff and I tell everyone about it!

Me in Rockette Red                               Rockette Red, after

    Rockette Red, before                                        After, in the car after eating pizza

  Roulette Red                                

      Me in Roulette Red!                                       Rockette Red (L),  Roulette Red (R)

Rockalily Box

    Rockalily lipstick box                                    Rockalily lipstick cases

About Rockabelle Bombshell

I am a single mom of a 13 yr old boy and 6 yr old girl. I love DIY projects of all types, and everything Rockabilly! I love the Icons of the 50's, as well as classic cars, pinups, retro appliances and decor, and victorian gothic furniture. I think of myself as a tattooed 1950's transplant... definitely born in the wrong era! I love thrifting and "junking"- I rarely see junk, I see things for their possibilities! I started this blog to document my DIY adventures as I attempt to upcycle and recreate my furniture and home decor, add a Rockabilly touch to as much clothing as I can, make life fun for my kids, and share my love of Rockabilly!

One response »

  1. Aw I’m so pleased you like your lippies!! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

